2024 Committees

Academic Committee

Provides continuing education for the Association's general membership; arranges for specialized education in areas such as clinical and research.

Co-Chairs: Michelle Moore, O.D. & Joseph Pavano, O.D.

Members: Christopher Agro, O.D., Peter Pegolo, O.D., Stephen Polezonis, O.D., Sheri Sparks, O.D. and Christian Swenby, O.D.

Awards Committee

Reviews the nominations received and choses the Optometrist of the Year and the Young Optometrist of the Year; consist of the previous five award winners for Optometrist of the Year and Young Optometrist of the Year.  If a previous award winner is unable to participate, the Chair will appoint a member from the list of past recipients; the previous year’s Optometrist of the Year is the Chair of the Committee.

Chair: Clinton McLean, O.D.

Members: Laura Dake-Roche, O.D, Patrick Doty, O.D., Barbara Dune, O.D., Brian Lynch, O.D., Erin McCleary, O.D., John Nedelcu, O.D., Joseph Pavano, O.D., Kimberly Raucci, O.D. and J. James Thimons, O.D.

Community Outreach/Focus on Eyes Committee

Informs the public about Optometry’s services; develops interprofessional relations with other healthcare associations; organizes CAO members’ participation in community health fairs and school events.

Chair: Natacha Louis-Charles, O.D.

Members: Barbara Dune, O.D., Lindsay Estel, O.D., Emma Flord, O.D., Annette Hoo, O.D., Francesca Johnson, O.D., Nilka Pabon, O.D., Kimberly Raucci, O.D, Olga Romanovsky, O.D., and Maysoon Salem, O.D.

Ethics Committee

Investigates complaints and/or concerns; maintains liaison with the State Board of Examiners in Optometry.

Chair: Alphonse Inclima, O.D.

Members: Christopher Inclima, O.D., Henry Samson, O.D., and Andrew Sokolik, O.D.

Finance Committee

Evaluates ways to increase income; evaluates current expenditures. Counsels with the president on the annual budget and prepares recommendations for the Executive Council and; performs such other duties in connection with the finances of the Association as determined by the Council. Chair is current the Secretary/Treasurer.

Chair: Christopher Agro, O.D.

Members: Laura Dake-Roche, O.D., Patrick Doty, O.D., Gary Maglio, O.D., Erin McCleary, O.D., John Nedelcu, O.D., Stephen Polezonis, O.D., and Christian Swenby, O.D.

Industry Relations Committee

Serves to develop the partnership between CAO members and industry-related partners. 

Chair: Christian Swenby, O.D.

Members: Christopher Agro, O.D. and Beth Schramm, O.D.

Legislative Committee

Works to protect promote and expand the scope of optometry through legislative endeavors; and takes an active role in influencing all legislation affecting vision.

Chair: Brian Lynch, O.D.

Members: Christopher Agro, O.D., Laura Dake-Roche, O.D., David Palozej, O.D., and Robert Palozej, O.D.

Managed Care Committee

Works to retain the increase Optometrists’ role in third-party care. 

Chair: Edward Pinn, O.D.

Members: Christopher Agro, O.D.

Membership Committee

Manages the recruitment of new members; generates increased participation in Association activities by existing members; informs prospective and existing members about the benefits of membership in the CAO.

Chair: Vacant

Members: Bijal Desai, O.D., Michael Kelleman, O.D., Erin McCleary, O.D., Ayra Sayyed, O.D.,  and Christian Swenby, O.D.

Mentoring Committee

Developed for new CAO members (recent graduates, students or established doctors) who might be new to Connecticut or to the CAO. Quarterly events are organized in different locations around the state.

Chair: Erin McCleary, O.D.

Nomination Committee

Studies and evaluates qualifications of prospective candidates for election as officers and directors; invites suggestions from members for nominees; prepares and presents its recommendations to all voting members. Chair is the Immediate Past-President.

Chair: Gary Maglio, O.D.

Members: Laura Dake-Roche, O.D., Erin McCleary, O.D., Margaret Moore, O.D., and Christian Swenby, O.D.


Scholarship Committee

Reviews annual scholarship applications and ensures the timely and fair disposition of scholarship funds.

Chair: Joseph Madrak, O.D.

Members: Howard Cohen, O.D, Danielle Goldberg, O.D., Michael Kelleman, O.D. and Jennifer Stewart, O.D.

Take an active role in CAO and join a committee - your time and talents are greatly appreciated!

If you are interested in participating in a committee, please contact us at (860) 529-1900 or [email protected] 


Our Sponsors

 Cherry OpticalWalman Optical